Over Three Decades of Combined Experience Working for You
Denton Misdemeanor Lawyer
Defending Against Misdemeanor Charges in Texas
Criminal charges are either classified as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the perceived seriousness of the crime. Although misdemeanors are considered to be less serious than felonies, they can still carry heavy consequences.
If you or a loved one were charged with any type of misdemeanor, your first step should be to hire a Denton misdemeanor lawyer. At Goline & Roland Law Firm, we represent clients in a wide range of criminal cases, including misdemeanor offenses.
How Texas Handles Misdemeanor Charges
In the state of Texas, misdemeanors can be punished by up to one year in county or local jail, as well as a number of other penalties. These offenses are categorized by Class A, B, or C under Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.03.
Class C is the least severe category and may carry up to $500 in fines with no jail time. A Class B offense may be penalized with fines up to $2,000, 180 days in jail, or both. Class A misdemeanors can be penalized with up to 1 year in jail, $4,000 in fines, or both.
A few examples of Class A misdemeanor offenses are:
- Assault with bodily injury
- Resisting arrest
- Burglary of a vehicle
- Unlawful carrying of a weapon
- Second DWI offense
- Animal cruelty
Misdemeanor Attorney Denton, Texas
Don't make the mistake of waiting to hire a lawyer because it's "just a misdemeanor" charge. At Goline & Roland Law Firm, our Denton misdemeanor attorney take every charge seriously and provide an aggressive defense strategy to any case we take on.
You can rely on us to investigate the charges against you and provide you with quality, effective advocacy. In some cases, charges may be reduced or dropped. Whatever the circumstances, our goal is to keep your future and criminal record safe.