Types of Alimony: Which One is Right for Your Situation?

Alimony, also known as spousal support, is a payment made by one spouse to the other after a divorce or separation. It is intended to help the receiving spouse maintain their standard of living and cover their expenses. However, there are different types of alimony, and each one is designed to address different circumstances. In this blog post, we will discuss the different types of alimony and help you choose the right one for your situation.

1. Temporary Alimony

Temporary alimony, also known as pendente lite, is awarded during the divorce process. It is intended to help the receiving spouse cover their expenses until a final divorce settlement is reached. Temporary alimony is usually based on the receiving spouse's financial needs and the paying spouse's ability to pay.

2. Rehabilitative Alimony

Rehabilitative alimony is awarded to help the receiving spouse become self-sufficient. It is usually awarded for a specific period of time and is intended to help the receiving spouse obtain education or training to improve their earning potential. This type of alimony is often awarded when one spouse has sacrificed their career to support the other spouse's career.

3. Permanent Alimony

Permanent alimony is awarded when one spouse is unable to support themselves due to age, disability, or other factors. It is intended to provide ongoing support for the receiving spouse's basic needs, such as housing, food, and medical expenses. Permanent alimony is usually awarded when the marriage has lasted for a long time, and the receiving spouse is unlikely to become self-sufficient.

4. Reimbursement Alimony

Reimbursement alimony is awarded to compensate the receiving spouse for expenses they incurred during the marriage. For example, if one spouse paid for the other spouse's education or supported them while they started a business, the receiving spouse may be entitled to reimbursement alimony. This type of alimony is intended to compensate the receiving spouse for their contributions to the marriage.

5. Lump-Sum Alimony

Lump-sum alimony is a one-time payment made to the receiving spouse. It is usually awarded when the paying spouse has a significant amount of assets but does not have a consistent income stream. Lump-sum alimony is intended to provide the receiving spouse with a lump sum of money that they can use to support themselves.

Choosing the right type of alimony can be a complex and emotional process. It is important to work with an experienced family law attorney who can help you navigate the legal system and protect your rights. At Goline & Roland Law Firm, we have helped many clients successfully navigate the alimony process.

Contact us today to schedule a consultation and learn more about how we can help you.